Geometry at UGA

Permanent faculty and their research interests

  • Malcolm Adams Professor. Differential equations, mathematical physics, and global analysis.
  • Jason Cantarella Professor. Geometric knot theory, particularly random knots.
  • David Gay  Professor. Smooth and symplectic topology of 4-manifolds and associated 3-dimensional issues. Also interested in mathematical illustration and outreach, heavily motivated by low-dimensional geometry and topology.
  • Joe Fu Professor. Integral geometry.
  • Saar Hersonsky Professor. Conformal geometry, geometric structures in low-dimensional topology, geometry of negatively curved spaces, image science.
  • Gordana Matic  Professor. 4- and 3-manifolds, contact topology, Heegaard Floer homology.
  • Jennifer Royal Lecturer. Differential geometry.
  • Michael Usher Professor. Symplectic and contact geometry and topology, Hamiltonian dynamics, Morse theory and persistence.
  • Weiwei Wu  Assistant Professor.  Topological rigidity of symplectic and Lagrangian submanifolds, symplectomorphism groups, Lagangian Floer theory, homological mirror symmetry. 


UGA Mathematics home page